SN.23.8. Arahantasutta ("A Perfected One")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

At Sāvatthī.

When Venerable Rādha was seated to one side, the Buddha said to him:

“Rādha, there are these five grasping aggregates. What five? The grasping aggregates of form, feeling, perception, choices, and consciousness. A mendicant comes to be freed by not grasping after truly understanding these five grasping aggregates’ origin, ending, gratification, drawback, and escape. Such a mendicant is called a perfected one, with defilements ended, who has completed the spiritual journey, done what had to be done, laid down the burden, achieved their own true goal, utterly ended the fetters of rebirth, and is rightly freed through enlightenment.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: