SN.36.2. Sukhasutta ("Pleasure")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these three feelings. What three?

Pleasant, painful, and neutral feeling. These are the three feelings.

Whatever is felt
internally and externally—
whether pleasure or pain
as well as what’s neutral—

having known this as suffering,
deceptive, falling apart,
one sees them vanish as they’re experienced again and again:
that’s how to be free of desire them.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: