SN.45.163. Āsavasutta ("Defilements")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these three defilements. What three? The defilements of sensuality, desire to be reborn, and ignorance. These are the three defilements.

The noble eightfold path should be developed for the direct knowledge, complete understanding, finishing, and giving up of these three defilements.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: