SN.45.173. Upādānasutta ("Grasping")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these four kinds of grasping. What four? Grasping at sensual pleasures, views, precepts and observances, and theories of a self. These are the four kinds of grasping.

The noble eightfold path should be developed for the direct knowledge, complete understanding, finishing, and giving up of these four kinds of grasping.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: