SN.48.20. Āsavakkhayasutta ("The Ending of Defilements")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these five faculties. What five? The faculties of faith, energy, mindfulness, immersion, and wisdom. These are the five faculties.

It’s because of developing and cultivating these five faculties that a mendicant realizes the undefiled freedom of heart and freedom by wisdom in this very life. And they live having realized it with their own insight due to the ending of defilements.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: