SN.48.33. Arahantasutta ("A Perfected One")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these five faculties. What five? The faculties of pleasure, pain, happiness, sadness, and equanimity. A mendicant comes to be freed by not grasping after truly understanding these five faculties’ origin, ending, gratification, drawback, and escape.

Such a mendicant is called a perfected one, with defilements ended, who has completed the spiritual journey, done what had to be done, laid down the burden, achieved their own true goal, utterly ended the fetters of rebirth, and is rightly freed through enlightenment.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: