SN.45.165. Dukkhatāsutta ("Forms of Suffering")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these three forms of suffering. What three? The suffering inherent in painful feeling; the suffering inherent in conditions; and the suffering inherent in perishing. These are the three forms of suffering.

The noble eightfold path should be developed for the direct knowledge, complete understanding, finishing, and giving up of these three forms of suffering.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: