SN.48.32. Sotāpannasutta ("A Stream-Enterer")

Saṁyutta Nikāya ("The Linked Discourses")

“Mendicants, there are these five faculties. What five? The faculties of pleasure, pain, happiness, sadness, and equanimity. A noble disciple comes to truly understand these five faculties’ origin, ending, gratification, drawback, and escape. Such a noble disciple is called a stream-enterer, not liable to be reborn in the underworld, bound for awakening.”

Subscribe to The Empty Robot

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox

Spread the word: